Who is "Palo Alto Mystery Man"?
For those of you paying close attention, there were two recent comments posted to my "Secret B&N Tax Refund Phone #" post by "Palo-Alto-Mystery-Man." This person was apparently using my site to advertise his new website, YUStudents.com. By new, I mean that the domain was registered 2/3/04! The email address he left with his (second) post was editor@yustudents.com, the same as is listed on the site. However, the email address registered with the domain is soad310@yahoo.com.
Now, while there is a remote chance that "he" is a "she," the site is about occurrences at the YU Wilf campus, which is all male. Furthermore, the domain is registered to:
David Punner
David is clearly a male name.
4140 Mackay Dr.
Palo Alto, CA 94306
While the information above may lead you to question whether the site owner is affiliated with YU, the next piece of information clinches it.
646-685-2803
The number above is in the area code and prefix designated for the YU dormitories.
soad310@yahoo.com
A little more about "Mr. Punner." His computer's IP address is 129.98.197.106, a YU dormitory domain (dyn-197-106.resnet.yu.edu). Based on the information on hand, he found my site by linking from both Protocols and The Town Crier, both well known throughout the YU world.
Not so mysterious after all.
Comments
Nice detective work Sherlock. :)
Posted by: Daniel | February 12, 2004 3:02 PM
oh man david, you were so close. You should have just busted out you emek-beracha phonelist, and figured out who it was.
Or, realize that the only other guy that lives in palo alto that goes/went to YU was me- Raphy Mahpour. And no, I have no idea what those websites are, I think I just found ur blog thru random yahoo searches. Sorry, no conspiracy here, but kudos on the good work.
Posted by: Palo alto - not - so mystery-man | February 13, 2006 1:19 AM
Have you not seen
http://blogs.yucs.org/~dwallach/2004/02/palo_alto_mystery_man_unveiled.html ???
Posted by: $uperman | February 13, 2006 3:52 AM